Krabi Town

Standard

I wake up in Southern Thailand. I am here, mostly.

We all jump off the big bus in Surat Thani, a town on the eastern coast and then hang around before we are ushered into several white mini vans. We are stickered by destination like grade school students to maintain some sort of organization.

Two hours or so later I am in Krabi town, on the Andaman sea. Hello gorgeous Andaman, it is more than a pleasure to meet you for the first time! I check into a cheap hostel and pass out for a bit, sincerely curious if my elephant trunk hooves will deflate. One foreign hospital experience is sufficient.

Happily I head to Wat Tham Sua, the tiger cave temple on a beloved tuk-tuk. It is a sprawling compound that features a bunch of caves surrounded by temples. There are countless Buddhas sitting in various postures, symbolizing different days of the week, a giant pagoda, an altar for Kuan Yin (the goddess of compassion), and the notorious footprint of Buddha, which is reached by a steep climb of 1237 stairs. The view is beyond fantastic from the top.

Interestingly there are only female monks on location, all dressed in white robes. The bald women emanate peace and love. They are so pure.

I sit under a wide tree for a bit, reflecting upon how each and every one of us is unique and with a distinct gift to share. Some of us are the dreamers, some of us the architects of these visions; some of us are dancers, doctors, lawyers, farmers, painters, healers, whatever. No role is more or less important, the significance lies in the fact that we work collectively, each of us individually contributing energetically, communicating, to form a cooperative whole. I am not the grooviest farmer but I am grateful for the opportunity to learn new skills. I will stick to teaching, cooking, yoga, sharing skills most dear to my heart. Let us all walk in our own light, living our bliss, serving as such.

Back in Krabi town I peruse the two night markets, filling my belly again with local delights. I am endlessly entertained by the colorful offerings, the energy always exciting. There is a distinct Muslim influence here in the south of Thailand for we are closer to Indonesia, many women wearing multicolored head scarves. Halal happiness for all. I think about the poor piggy that was butchered at the Organic Mulberry farm and wish he had been born here instead.

It pours fervently, hydrating mama earth, the air becoming dense and muggy. In the lobby of the hostel a bunch congregate, chat, snack, and view “The Hangover Part 2”. Hmm. I think the third time viewing the movie is a bit excessive. Perhaps Thai people are proud of Bangkok being featured in an international flick. Beach tomorrow? I hope!

One response »

Leave a Reply

